South Carolina
American History & Genealogy Project
Time Line

1514 Spaniards explore South Carolina Coast
1524 Giovanni da Verranzano leads French expedition from Carolina to Nova Scotia
1526 First settlers from Hispaniola establish San Miguel de Guadalupe (South Carolina)
1540 Hernando DeSoto meets Queen of Cofitachiqui while crossing central part of state
1562 Huguenots led by Jean Ribaut attempt to settle what is now Parris Island near Beaufort
1566 Spanish build Fort San Felipe on Parris Island, establish new settlement known as Santa Elena, the capital of La Florida Province
1576 Santa Elena abandoned while under attack by Native Americans
1577 Fort San Felipe rebuilt
1587 After withdrawl from Santa Elena to St. Augustine, South Carolina is again left to the Native Americans
1663 Charter for the Carolinas granted by Charles II
1670 Carolina is first ship to land in Charlestowne, followed shortly after by the Albemarle and Port Royal
1670 English establish first permanent European settlement at Albemarle Point on the Ashley River
1670 Charleston (South Carolina) founded
1706 November, South Carolina establishes the Anglican Church as its official church
1708 The majority of non-native inhabitants were African American slaves
1712 May, the Carolina Colony is officially divided in North and South Carolina
1714 Yamasee War (South Carolina)
1715 Last time Native Americans significatly threaten the colony's existence - Yemassee War
1719 Colonist revolt against proprietary rule, proprietors' interests bought out and South Carolina becomes a royal province
1739 England delares war on Spain. As a result, hositilites break out between Georgia and South Carolina colonists and Florida Spaniards. Also, three seperate violent uprisings by black slaves occur
1739 Stono Rebellion
1740 Fifty black slaves hanged in Charleston
1750 Rice and indigo make the planters and merchants in the South Carolina lowcoutry the wealthiest men in what would become the United States
1765 Charlestonians were strongest supporters of rights as Englishment in Stamp Act crisis
1767 Regulator movement
March 28, 1776 Constitution of South Carolina
June 28, 1776 First decisive victory of the war was the repulse of a British fleet by patriot defenders in palmetto log fort on Sullivans Island, Fort Moultrie
1777 - 1778 Charleston merchant Henry Laurens served as President of the Continental Congress
1779 Feb 1, British Gen. Clinton arrives in Charleston, after leaving New York with 8000 men on Dec 26
1780 May 6, British capture Fort Moultrie at Charleston
1780 May 29, battle of Waxhaw Creek
1780 August 6, Battle at Hanging Rock
1780 August 16, battle of Camden, big defeat for Americans as forces under Gen Gates are defeated by troops of Gen Charles Corwallis, resulting in 900 Americans killed and 1000 captured
1780 August 18, defeat at Fishing Creek
1780 October 7, battle of King's Mountain, victory begins to turn the tide in the south
1780 October 14, Gen Nathanael Greene is named as new commander of the Southern Army, replaces Gen Gates. He begins a strategy of rallying support and wearing down the British by leading Gen Cornwallis on a six month chase through the woods of South Carolina to North Carolina, then Virginia and back to North Carolina
1781 Battle at Cowpens, January 17, victory, Gen Daniel Morgan defeats British Gen Banastre Tarleton
1781 April 25, Battle at Hobkirk's Hill, Lord Rawdon defeats Natanael Greene
1781 Battle at Ninety-six
1781 Battle at Eutaw Springs
1782 August 27, last fighting of the Revolutionary War occurs in skirmish along the Combahee River
1782 December 14, British evacuate Charleston
1788 South Carolina becomes 8th state to ratify the United States Constitution
1790 South Carolina moves its seat of government from Charleston to Columbia
1824 John C. Calhoun served as secretary of war before becoming Vice President
1832 John C. Calhoun emerges as political theorist of states rights when South Carolina nullifies federal tariffs
1856 South Carolina representative Preston Brooks beats Charles Sumner, outspoken anti-slavery senator from Massachusetts, unconcious with a cane
December 20, 1860 South Carolina is first to secede from the Union when it ratifies the Ordinance of Secession
April 12, 1861 First shots of the Civil War fired in Charleston Harbor, South Carolina troops fire on Federal arsenal at Fort Sumter

Return to SC AHGP Main Page

This page was last updated Tuesday, 29-Apr-2014 19:55:04 EDT
Copyright © 2014~2024 by C. W. Barnum